June 18, 2024, 10:04:13 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Ableton sync problems  (Read 4220 times)

tonysss13

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
Ableton sync problems
« on: July 17, 2015, 02:19:56 pm »
I am having problems with syncing with Ableton, even after following the tutorial

If I try to use ableton as the master it starts then keeps looping back to the beginning after about half a beat and when i press stop it just freaks out and causes a very fast loop of the first beat. The only way I can get this to work properly is be de-selecting Sync on the beatstep pro output device in ableton, but then the sequenced notes on the BS pro do not send midi to ableton

If i try to use BS pro as the master then it works fine but my analog rytm just plays a load of beats in strange time.

I have disabled MMC in the midi control centre and set it to midi only which I thought had helped but the problem has reappeared

screenshots of ableton midi settings attached

thanks in advance
« Last Edit: July 17, 2015, 02:27:55 pm by tonysss13 »

tonysss13

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 04:21:05 pm »
got it working by following the PDF not the video but then stopped working again. Not only that it seems to be spitting out random midi notes that shouldn't be there and carry on despite despite clearing the sequence. muting the sequencer stops it but i cannot see the notes anywhere

Zymos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: 12
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2015, 04:56:53 pm »
I get two BSP devices with slightly different names showing in Live- it looks like you only have one? Not sure if that's significant, just pointing it out.
I used it for an hour or so slaved to Live and it was working well.

tonysss13

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2015, 05:16:23 pm »
thanks Zymos

I also have 2, the 2nd one is set for mackie control hence it showing up as that, will try it without it just to eliminate.

Terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.542
  • Karma: 40
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2015, 05:58:23 pm »
Hi tonysss13 , have you set up the bsp in mcc sync to 24ppq or higher , i have tried this in bsp and do not have the same problem.

regards


terrym
TerryM
ARTURIA Tester for Minifreak,All software Polybrute,Keystep pro,Audiofuse range, Microfreak,Kl49mkII,DrumBrute,Spark,Analog lab3,KLE,kl88,matrix12,Semv,Beatstep,Minibrute 2,Pigments
ASC,Vcol6, Beatstep pro, VCOL8, Synclavier v.Minibrute2s

tonysss13

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2015, 08:04:19 pm »
just tried that thanks Terrym, no good unfortunately

i can get the transport to work and the pads send midi but the sequencer doesn't run with the set up in the images i uploaded. if i select sync on the beatstep pro output the BSP sequencer starts but the transport goes all weird and runs for one beat






Terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.542
  • Karma: 40
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2015, 08:31:33 pm »
Hi i have mine setup like this and it works fine have you checked in out  sync on this page?

also have you setup the midi correct for each sequence.
TerryM
ARTURIA Tester for Minifreak,All software Polybrute,Keystep pro,Audiofuse range, Microfreak,Kl49mkII,DrumBrute,Spark,Analog lab3,KLE,kl88,matrix12,Semv,Beatstep,Minibrute 2,Pigments
ASC,Vcol6, Beatstep pro, VCOL8, Synclavier v.Minibrute2s

tonysss13

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2015, 08:45:01 pm »
yes It works if i have the ins set like that but sequencer doesnt run. if i check sync on out the transport & tempo goes mad but the sequencer moves just a bit wildly

not sure what you mean by setting up the sequence correctly?

I am using USB btw not a midi cable

Terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.542
  • Karma: 40
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2015, 08:59:08 pm »
I'm using the usb here on mac when i mean sequence did you setup the midi correct like below ect


regards

terrym
TerryM
ARTURIA Tester for Minifreak,All software Polybrute,Keystep pro,Audiofuse range, Microfreak,Kl49mkII,DrumBrute,Spark,Analog lab3,KLE,kl88,matrix12,Semv,Beatstep,Minibrute 2,Pigments
ASC,Vcol6, Beatstep pro, VCOL8, Synclavier v.Minibrute2s

tonysss13

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2015, 12:24:44 am »
sorry yes have set it up like that

I'm on a PC so maybe some sort of bug as I have followed Arturias instructions to the letter

thanks for the help :) :) :)

Zymos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: 12
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2015, 05:27:44 am »
I'll try to screenshot my working settings this weekend, maybe we can see a difference. But I'm not doing anything fancy, it just seems to be working...

Riinehart

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ableton sync problems
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2017, 05:56:20 pm »
I am having the same problem as OP, also on Windows. Has this been resolved?

Thanks.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines