February 21, 2024, 01:55:26 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: What use are the preset buttons on on the synth panel?  (Read 5373 times)

artao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Karma: 0
    • Voxonitus Soundcloud
What use are the preset buttons on on the synth panel?
« on: April 20, 2015, 06:31:09 am »
So .. there's those 16 preset buttons just above the keyboard on the synth itself. These buttons are not discussed anywhere in the user manual. Obviously, they select pre-sets.  8)
Ok. So I've been reading the actual manual for the Jupiter 8. It seems those preset buttons could be programmed by the user, AND they were multi-numeric. Which is to say, you had to press, say, 1 then 1 to load the first preset, up to 8 then 8 to load the 64th preset. On the Jupiter 8 V, a single press of a button loads the preset. I see that some are single-voice patches, some are dual-voice patches.
Is there a was for us, the user, to set our own patches to these buttons? If so, how? If not then, well, what's the use of them really?  ???
This space left intentionally blank.

ben arturia

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 822
  • Karma: 31
Re: What use are the preset buttons on on the synth panel?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2015, 09:09:06 am »
You can store any preset on those 16 buttons by clicking on a button while holding shift.
It will store your preset on the selected snapshot.
.......testing.......

artao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Karma: 0
    • Voxonitus Soundcloud
Re: What use are the preset buttons on on the synth panel?
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2015, 11:47:56 am »
You can store any preset on those 16 buttons by clicking on a button while holding shift.
It will store your preset on the selected snapshot.
AHA!! Thank you so much!!  ;D  8)
I swear that's not in the manual.  ;)

EDIT: Hmm .. seems those buttons aren't MIDI assignable tho?  ??? .... is there some default MIDI or NRPN message they might react to?
« Last Edit: April 20, 2015, 11:50:42 am by artao »
This space left intentionally blank.

ben arturia

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 822
  • Karma: 31
Re: What use are the preset buttons on on the synth panel?
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2015, 01:30:15 pm »
No it's not possible to control those parameters via Midi
.......testing.......

martinl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 2
Re: What use are the preset buttons on on the synth panel?
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2015, 12:14:35 pm »
No it's not possible to control those parameters via Midi

Being able to control them via MIDI would really make them much more useful. If I can only access them with the mouse, I can also choose a new patch from the menu.

Cheers,
Martin

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines