February 21, 2024, 01:58:00 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Polyphonic AT broken  (Read 5722 times)

martinl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 2
Polyphonic AT broken
« on: December 16, 2014, 08:50:28 am »
Just got my V-4 Collection yesterday, and found that the polyphonic AT in the J8-V2 is broken.

It does respond to polyphonic AT, but parameters controlled by it don't react smoothly. It sounds like the poly AT somehow picks up some spurious value=0  messages.

Poly AT works just beautifully on the CS-80V, so I know that Arturia can do it.


Hoping for a fix...


Martin

ben arturia

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 822
  • Karma: 31
Re: Polyphonic AT broken
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2014, 12:37:01 pm »
Hi Martinl,

Polyphonic aftertouch should work as before with this new version.
Could you please tell me on witch destination you map the aftertouch ?

.......testing.......

Terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.542
  • Karma: 40
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Polyphonic AT broken
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2014, 10:08:50 pm »
Hi martinl ,

 just checked after selecting aftertouch in the modulation page that aftertouch is working fine for me in jp v.
 You need to assign first if the preset doesn't have it routed in the keyboard section.

regards

terry

TerryM
ARTURIA Tester for Minifreak,All software Polybrute,Keystep pro,Audiofuse range, Microfreak,Kl49mkII,DrumBrute,Spark,Analog lab3,KLE,kl88,matrix12,Semv,Beatstep,Minibrute 2,Pigments
ASC,Vcol6, Beatstep pro, VCOL8, Synclavier v.Minibrute2s

martinl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 2
Re: Polyphonic AT broken
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2014, 10:25:56 pm »
Hi,

just made some more tests.

Just to avoid misunderstandings: I am talking about polyphonic aftertouch, channel aftertouch works fine.

I tried routing to the filter cutoff, or also to the VCO2 frequency, which makes the effect easier to spot.
What happens is the following: If on the first key I press the key I can hear the frequency (filter or VCO2) going up.
Now, I try to maintain the pressure on that key and press a second key. As long as I do not apply pressure to the second key,
everything is fine.

However, if I apply pressure to the second key, the frequency of the first key immediately drops down to the original value without pressure.
Reducing now the pressure on the second key slightly, the frequency jumps up again to the correct value (with pressure), and the frequency of the second key drops down. And so on,

It seems that changing aftertouch on ANY key resets the poly AT value for all other keys, until they are varied again.

I never had the previous version of the J8V (currently running v 22.6.0.400), so I can't tell whether it is s new problem, or was always present, and never spotted (I guess not too many people use polyphonic AT).


Best Regards,
Martin

ben arturia

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 822
  • Karma: 31
Re: Polyphonic AT broken
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2014, 08:54:26 am »
Damn ! You are right !
It seems that the problem occurs only when the first polyphonic aftertouch message reach max value.
If Poly aftertouch is routed on VCO pitch you can easily spot that.
If you don't apply max pressure on a first note then add another one it's working fine but if the first note is pressed with max aftertouch then pressing another note (sending another Poly Aftertouch message) will drop first note back to original pitch.
By the way this bug was already there on VC3 version :-[.
Thanks for the bug report. We will try to fix this bug in a next version.
.......testing.......

martinl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 2
Re: Polyphonic AT broken
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2014, 04:03:49 pm »
Always happy to help finding bugs (in particular if they get fixed...).
Spending a lot of time right now debugging my own plugin...

Cheers,
Martin

martinl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 2
Re: Polyphonic AT broken
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2016, 01:47:38 pm »
Always happy to help finding bugs (in particular if they get fixed...).
Spending a lot of time right now debugging my own plugin...

Cheers,
Martin

Happy to confirm that the polyphonic aftertouch is now working in the latest version.

Thanks a lot!

Martin

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines