December 10, 2023, 05:45:28 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Different AL sounds on different DAW channels  (Read 512 times)

Eric_Dunn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Different AL sounds on different DAW channels
« on: April 24, 2023, 06:14:12 am »
Apologies for the basic question, a refugee from the '80s I'm a digital noob on a steep learning curve.
I have purchased KeybLab Essential 88 which came bundled with AL4 & AL5 (amongst other things) and I purchased Presonus Audiobox USB and Studio One Artist DAW.
My question is:
Can I have a different AL sound on each channel in the DAW?
I have searched through the forums and the manual, and the answer seems to be "no"
My reading would indicate I can only have two sounds at once by creating a Multi Mode in AL, and pitch shifting the DAW channels to accommodate the assigned range of the sound, if I don't do this only one sound at a time is available... but maybe I've missed something.
It seems strange to me that I cannot simply choose AL5 for a channel and assign a different sound, but when I do, it changes all the AL5 channels to that sound.
If this is the case is it possible for the DAW to select different presets automatically through the song?
TIA
Eric.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.920
  • Karma: 261
Re: Different AL sounds on different DAW channels
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2023, 12:41:37 pm »
Hello,

You need to add a new instance/ copy of an instrument/ Analog Lab for each track you use, if you don't wan't to use the same sound/s set in one instance.
In Studio One just drag another instance/ copy to an empty track space. Then it will work independent from other instances.

Hope this helps.

MajorFubar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.176
  • Karma: 67
Re: Different AL sounds on different DAW channels
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2023, 12:44:01 pm »
If you mean different tracks in the DAW, not channels, then yes you can. I'm not sure what you have read that makes you think you can't.

Just put a different instance of Analog Lab on each track in your DAW. Each one behaves like a separate synthesizer. The limit to how many you can run at once will be determined by the processing-power of your computer and/or limitations set by your DAW.
2022 Apple Studio Max 32/32/2TB Monterey V Collection 9 Analog Lab 4 + 5 KeyLab 88 KeyStep

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.920
  • Karma: 261
Re: Different AL sounds on different DAW channels
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2023, 12:47:48 pm »
In Studio One loading a new instance of an instrument will create a new channel (mixer channel), not to confuse with a midi channel.
Channel and track is'nt the same as multiple tracks can be assigned the same channel by using the same instance of an instrument.
When dragging a new instrument  instance to the workspace both a new channel and new track will be created.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2023, 12:55:39 pm by LBH »

Eric_Dunn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Different AL sounds on different DAW channels
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2023, 01:12:30 am »
Well, thank you.
(Doh) I was selecting from the dropdown on the track, rather than dragging a new instance across to the track.
Asked and answered.
Cheers
Eric

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines