March 29, 2024, 03:04:35 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Total Newbie- Need guidance or direction  (Read 5336 times)

l8rdood

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Total Newbie- Need guidance or direction
« on: January 22, 2018, 05:11:17 am »
This is my first post in Arturia. I am a complete newbie. So I don't upset anyone or waste peoples time, I need some basic help. I tried to get into software synths years ago when the original Korg Legacy software came out. I had really no idea what I was doing & I had latency issues. Being frustrated with it & limited sounds at the time, I pass on pursuing it anymore....till now.
   I made the leap; recently bought a Windows gaming system (I7 with 16 gigs RAM, 256 SSD +(2 TB HDD) & an 8 gig nvidia video card. Point is that this should be enough.
   I purchased the Arturia Keylab 61 (the better one with the wood sides) & now have the complete V collection 6 downloaded. I'm "assuming" that I can still use this as a stand alone. So my real question is this: once I install the downloads, where do I start? Is there a tutorial on using this? If so, does anyone have the link? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

LBH

Re: Total Newbie- Need guidance or direction
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2018, 06:00:41 am »
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

Very short.

A Gamer PC can be fine. But while gamer computers often put lots of weight on the graphic cards performance, then a computer for PC put more weight on the CPU performance. A thing like a high CPU base clock rate/ speed (without turboboost and alike) pr core is very important.

Also the soundcard is important. I'm for example not sure you will get good enough performance using Windows own drivers and the standard build in soundcard. You can try.
The soundcard and it's drivers performance is important for latency. I for example use a external soundcard with ASIO drivers. Some use more exspensive PCI soundcards.