March 28, 2024, 12:24:37 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Minilab MkII mapping to MPC Beats: knobs produce strange results  (Read 2620 times)

jah1138

Minilab MkII mapping to MPC Beats: knobs produce strange results
« on: September 07, 2021, 04:07:04 am »
Hi folks,

I’ve having a heck of a time getting the knobs on the Minilab MkII to control the Q-Links in Akai’s MPC Beats in a usable way. I've seen that there's a long history of "jumpy knobs" reports over the past few years, and I can't say whether this issue is the same as what others are talking about, but I've gathered some specific data on this behavior and I'm hoping someone can help me resolve it.

I’m a bit new to this setup, but I've gotten some of the most common knob issues out of the way:
  • I understand the difference between absolute and relative, and my knobs are mapped as relative.
  • I’m aware of the knob speed issues, and I did update to firmware 1.1.2 to improve knob speed.
To provide some solid data on the behavior I’m seeing, I ran a test using knob 5 on the Minilab to control Sequence Tempo in Akai MPC Beats.

Mapping
Minilab Knob 5 (CC 77) mapped to MPC Q-link 13 (Sequence Tempo)
Set as Relative CC offset, Channel 1, not flipped

Opening the project, the sequence tempo was preset to 120 bpm. I began by rotating the knob clockwise until the tempo value ceased to change, and then rotated it counterclockwise until the tempo value again ceased to change. I repeated this pattern 4 times. The changes to the tempo value are shown in the following table.

RotationStart valueGoes toThen to
CW120110316
CCW316510302
CW302100302
CCW302500292
CW29292294
CCW294491284
CW28483285
CCW285482274