April 18, 2024, 11:34:21 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Buying Arturia Software Synths  (Read 1682 times)

IanF

Buying Arturia Software Synths
« on: May 07, 2021, 10:50:27 am »
Greetings all,

TL;DR Is it sensible to wait for sales and does buying a single instrument allow an upgrade path to the V Collection?

=========================

I'm currently looking at buying the Prophet V3 but tbh, the price is way over the top, in my rarely humble opinion.

I'm not greatly interested in the VS as I'm more into analogue but it has a few nice sounds and so, as a package I can justify it to myself to pay a little extra for something that I don't actually want, but may be nice to have from time to time.

In terms of making music that's all I need. I'm a hobbyist these days (I'm 56) although I might pop out and do a gig again just for the hell of it at some point in the future. For that reason, call me a skinflint but I don't want to start dropping hundreds on products that aren't essential which, brings me to the V Collection.

I grew up with the synths in the V collection although most of them were beyond my means, leaving me with my nose pressed up against music store windows, drooling. I don't need them and I wouldn't want to get into the habit of writing songs with them (I prefer a minimalist approach), but it'd be great to play some of them and hear the sounds again every once in a while when I'm feeling nostalgic and telling everyone "It was better in my day!". But, again, the price is way over the top for my needs.

Which brings me to the question (at last) that is, what is the best way to buy Arturia VST's? Do they have sales often enough that it makes sense to await the next one and if so, are they proper sales or the "you can have 10% off and we'll throw in something else for free that we're struggling to sell and you don't actually want", type?