May 04, 2024, 02:53:39 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: What is MIDI Control Center actually for?  (Read 465 times)

aaricwon

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
What is MIDI Control Center actually for?
« on: December 30, 2014, 07:12:08 am »
This may be a dumb question so I apologize in advance but I was given a Arturia Minilab for Christmas because I am a musician (guitar) but now that I am not playing in actual bands I would like to start creating electronic music. I have installed Analog Labratory and MIDI Control Center. I have played with Analog Lab though I don't really know what it would be used for? Maybe live performances? I have used FL Studio 10 and imported the Analog Lab VST and used it there. I have Ableton Live but haven't really figured it out yet. What I don't know about though is the MIDI Control Center program? What is this used for? I have opened it but I just don't konw what to do with it?

Can someone answer that? What is MIDI Control Center for? What is an example of something I would do with it?

Davifol

Re: What is MIDI Control Center actually for?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2015, 12:56:25 pm »
I'm in the same boat - but with a twist. I also have The Laboratory MIDI Control Centre as well as MIDIControlCentre. To me, it seems that both apps are purely for configuration of Arturia MIDI instruments (as opposed to MIDI controllers by any other vendors), the difference being that MIDIControlCentre governs all Arturia hardware, while The Laboratory MIDI Control Centre is... just for the Arturia Analog Experience keyboard... I think. But that said, I'm also confused by Analog Lab and Analog Laboratory! What the hell is the difference there? As I don't have any Arturia hardware, I'm in a quandary as to whether or not to uninstall Laboratory MIDI Control Centre, MIDIControlCentre and Analog Laboratory and only keep Analog Lab. Bit of a clash of naming there... any advice from anyone?